Skip to content

How to re-connect a social account using RecurPost?

Due to continuous updates made by Facebook, Instagram, and other social networks, it might happen that you’d need to reconnect your social account on RecurPost sometimes too. It is essential to let RecurPost work in compliance with the rules and regulations, and produce the optimum results.

Table of contents

Reconnecting any social account on RecurPost is just a matter of 5 minutes (or sometimes 2!) Simply follow the steps mentioned below:

  • Log in to your RecurPost account.
  • While on the dashboard, you can see all your added social accounts on the left-hand side panel. At the bottom, there is a button saying ‘Manage’. Click on it and a pop-up will appear showing all your connected accounts.
how to reconnect social accounts using recurpost
  • Four options will be given for every social account – Pause, Reconnect, Edit, and Delete. Click on the second icon for reconnecting your account.
How to re-connect a social account - click on the reconnect icon
  • Note: To reconnect a social account, it is necessary for you to be logged in to that particular account on the device that you are using. For example, if you want to reconnect your Instagram personal profile, please log in to your Instagram account on the browser that you are using to operate RecurPost.

Let’s see some examples.

1. How to reconnect your Instagram personal profile

Login to your RecurPost account and go to the dashboard. On the left-hand side, you can either click on the ‘Reconnect’ button next to your disconnected social account or click on the ‘Manage’ button. After clicking on the reconnect button from the pop-up, you will be shown the account in which you are already logged in on your browser. 

how to reconnect instagram personal profile

Just select the account and it will be reconnected. If you are not logged in already, it will ask you to enter your Instagram login credentials. Fill in your ID and Password, and click on Continue to finish the reconnecting process.

2. How to reconnect your Instagram Business profile

As an Instagram business profile is linked with a Facebook page, the reconnecting process also takes you to Facebook. Login to your RecurPost account and go to the dashboard. On the left-hand side, you can either click on the ‘Reconnect’ button next to your disconnected social account or click on the ‘Manage’ button. After clicking on the reconnect button from the pop-up, you will be taken to your Facebook login page.

how to reconnect instagram business profile

Click on continue and your account will be reconnected. 

Note: If you are reconnecting your account for the first time after the latest update from Facebook, click here to see the steps.

3. How to reconnect your Facebook Groups and Pages

For reconnecting a Facebook Group or Page, you just need to log in to your Facebook account on the browser that you are using, and then hit the reconnect button! That’s it. No additional steps.

Note: If you denied RecurPost the permission to post on your Facebook account, you need to reconnect. Firstly, you need to visit your Facebook account settings page. Under the Business integrations section, you will see RecurPost listed. Click on Remove and then go to RecurPost. Try adding your account again and it will work just fine. Make sure to turn on all the permissions. 

At times, it is possible that you may not be able to see your Facebook Page or Group when you try to add it to RecurPost. This is a common issue with Facebook. Read this guide to fix it.

4. How to reconnect your Twitter account

Login to your RecurPost account and go to the dashboard. On the left-hand side, you can either click on the ‘Reconnect’ button next to your disconnected social account or click on the ‘Manage’ button. Click on the reconnect button from the pop-up, and you will be taken to your Twitter login page.

how to reconnect reconnect twitter account

Enter your Twitter username and password, and your account will be reconnected.

5. How to reconnect your LinkedIn account

From the RecurPost’s dashboard, you can either click on the ‘Reconnect’ button next to your disconnected social account or click on ‘Manage’. When the pop-up menu appears, select the reconnect button given along with your LinkedIn account. You will be taken to the LinkedIn login page.

how to reconnect your LinkedIn account

Enter the credentials associated with your account and it will be reconnected successfully. 

6. How to reconnect your Google Business Profile

From the left-hand side of RecurPost’s dashboard, either click on the Reconnect button next to your Google Business Profile account or click on the ‘Manage’ button. After clicking on the reconnect button from the pop-up, you will be taken to Google’s login page.

how to reconnect your Google my business profile

Enter the Gmail id and password associated with your Google Business Profile. The next screen will ask you to give RecurPost permission to post on your profile. Click on the ‘Allow’ button and your account will be reconnected.

how to reconnect GMB profile

Note: RecurPost never saves your Login credentials or uses any information related to any social account. We connect accounts through APIs so as to practice better security and privacy of the user. The permissions that you allow are needed to take action of posting on your behalf. 

7. How to reconnect your Pinterest board

On your RecurPost account dashboard, either click on the Reconnect button next to your Pinterest board or click on ‘Manage’ option under the left-side menu. When the pop-up menu appears, select the reconnect button given along with your Pinterest board. You will be taken to the Pinterest login page.

Enter the Pinterest account credentials. The next screen will ask you to give RecurPost permission to post on your boards. Click on the ‘Give access’ and your account will be reconnected.

How to identify a disconnected account?

All the social accounts that you’ve connected to RecurPost appear on the left-hand side of the dashboard, under the section of ‘Your social accounts‘. Go to that list and see if any account has the label ‘Reconnect’ beside it. If it has, you need to reconnect it to RecurPost by logging in again.

How will I be notified if an account becomes disconnected?

If you have downloaded the RecurPost app and have logged in to your account, you will receive a push notification informing you that a social account has been disconnected. If you are using RecurPost on desktop and have scheduled posts on an account that has been disconnected, you will see a red indicator on the ‘History’ tab in the dashboard section.

This is an indicator that a post has failed to publish on the selected social account as it has been disconnected. To identify the account and reconnect it, go to the ‘Your social accounts’ section on the left-hand side of the dashboard and see which social account has the label of ‘reconnect’ beside it.

How to proactively reconnect your social accounts

  • FB expires the token every 60 days. Thus, your Facebook and Instagram accounts might go into disconnected state. To avoid it, you can reconnect your account before that to avoid any loss of data or schedules.
  • Linkedin token gets automatically refreshed after every 60 days and thus RecurPost can get disconnected from LinkedIn, but once a year (after 365 days), you have to reauthorize your account to continue posting through RecurPost.
  • Google Business Profile expires the token every 200 days and thus RecurPost can get disconnected from the Google Business Profile. So you need to reconnect the account and re-authenticate by giving all permissions.
  • For Twitter and Pinterest, an access token will be invalidated if a user explicitly revokes an application from the Apps and sessions page of their Twitter account, which makes RecurPost get disconnected from Twitter.