Can I keep an Update as a Draft? When will it Expire?

  knowledgebase

You can indeed keep an update as a draft until you want it to start going out to your social accounts. Keeping an update as a draft basically means that it’s on standby.

When adding a new update in your library, we give you the option to keep it as a draft and also to stop recycling it after a certain date.

You can find this feature when creating a new update in your library. To create a new update, simply go to Dashboard > Your Library > Add an update.

Dashboard > Your Library > Add an update  -  recurpost - social media scheduler

For better understanding, let’s assume you want to keep your update as a draft until 31st March and you want to stop recycling it after 20th June.

This means that your update will start going out to your social account recurringly according to your schedule from 1st April to 20th June.

To turn both of these features on, tick both boxes and set up your dates according to your preferences.

Once you’re done with that, click on ‘Add to library’. Your update is now made and can now be found by clicking ‘Show Draft Updates‘.

Add to library -  recurpost - social media scheduler

You will notice that your update is now saved under a separate heading ‘Updates not live yet’.

Once your update is past the draft date, i.e. 31st March in this case, it will automatically be moved with your regular updates and start going out to your social accounts recurringly. 

After the last date of its use, i.e. 20th June, it will be removed from your library and go to the ‘Expired content’ library.

expired content - recurpost - social media scheduler

If you wish to reuse your expired updates, you can do so too by simply copying your expired update to one or more of your libraries.

copying your expired update - recurpost - social media scheduler

For reusing your expired update, click on the copy button beside the update. Then, select the library in which you want to copy the expired update to.

select the library -  recurpost - social media post scheduler

Then, click ‘Copy‘.

copy - recurpost - social media post scheduler

Your expired update is now copied to your library for reuse.

Keep in mind that selecting both the options i.e. ‘Keep as a draft until’ and ‘Stop recycling after’ is not mandatory. You can use both the features independently.

For instance, if you want your update to simply stops going out to your social accounts after a certain date, use ‘Stop recycling after’ only. Your update will not be kept as a draft.

On the other hand, if you wish to keep it as a draft and post it indefinitely, use ‘Keep as a draft only’ only. After the due date, your update will keep going out to your account endlessly.

Please note that both of these features do not apply to one-time use updates because they do not repeat in cycles but are used just once.

Thanks for reading this guide! If you still have any queries regarding it, feel free to contact us at support@recurpost.com